The Counts Tyszkiewicz called their greenhouse the Winter Garden while the manor park with the former orchard was called the Summer Garden. The park was almost ruined during the Soviet occupation. As of 1992, Kretinga Museum has started the restoration works at the park.
In 2002, a sundial was constructed (author: Artist Rita Gorodeckienė) to revive the landscape and create a new point of interest for tourists. The sundial is placed in the southern part of the park and creates a unique atmosphere reminding of the ancient Baltic traditions. The composition is comprised of oak sculptures and chiseled stones made by skilled folk artisans. They denote important historical events and traditional celebrations, such as the foundation of Kretinga City, the coronation of King Mindaugas, the Battle of Grunwald, Saint George’s Day, the Feast of the Assumption of Mary, All Souls’ Day, etc.). The centerpiece of the composition is a 6-meter-high wooden sundial standing on the hill. The shadow of this sculpture is projected on the stones in the center and shows the hour of the day, while the sunbeam passing through a hole at the top of the sculpture falls on a different stone depending on the time of year and denotes a particular event or celebration.
An interesting fact: the oldest Sundial built sometime around 1610 (though no longer working) remained in the courtyard of Kretinga Franciscan Friary.
Post a review